Society for the Advancement of Economic Theory

Mini Conference on Economic Theory - University of Illinois

The University of Illinois Department of Economics and SAET will be hosting a mini-conference on November 5, 6 and 7 at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. The conference is scheduled to begin at 1PM on Friday and will run through Sunday morning. Registration is free. For more details, please contact Richard Hislop at rhislop2@illinois.edu

The hotel will be the Holiday Inn at 1003 Killnarey St. Urbana IL. Transportation will be provided.

Conference Program

All talks will take place in Room 119 of David Kinley Hall, 1407 W. Gregory, Urbana, Illinois 61801.

Friday, November 5, 2010

Chair: Stefan Krasa
1:30 - 2:00Ali Khan (Johns Hopkins, akhan@jhu.edu)Optimal Cyclicity and Chaos in Discounted Optimal Growth Theory: An Anything-Goes Construction (Background Paper)
2:00 - 2:30Dan Kovenock (Iowa, dan-kovenock@uiowa.edu)The Optimal Defense of Networks of Targets
2:30 - 3:00Scott Condie (Brigham Young, scott_condie@byu.edu)Information Efficiency with Ambiguous Information
3:00 - 3:30Alvaro Sandroni (Northwestern, sandroni@kellogg.northwestern.edu)Rationalization
3:30 - 4:00Coffee Break
Chair: Anne Villamil
4:00 - 4:30Gabriele Camera (Purdue, gcamera@purdue.edu) Cooperative Strategies in Anonymous Economies: An Experiment
4:30 - 5:00Dimitrios Tsomocos (Oxford, dimitrios.tsomocos@seh.ox.ac.uk)Debt Deflation Effects of Monetary Policy
5:00 - 5:30Mordecai Kurz (Stanford, mordecai@stanford.edu)The Roll of Diverse Beliefs in a New Keynesian Macro Model
6:30 - 6:00Mark Machina (UCSD, mmachina@ucsd.edu)TBA
7:30 Dinner

Saturday, November 6, 2010

Chair: John Nachbar
10:00 - 10:30Steve Spear (Carnegie Mellon, ss1f@andrew.cmu.edu)Endogenous Market Incompleteness Without Market Frictions
10:30 - 11:00Erik Balder (Utrecht, E.J.Balder@uu.nl)On Competitive Markets with Externalities and a Continuum of Agents
11:00 - 11:30Edward Schlee (Arizona State, ed.schlee@asu.edu)Optimal Insurance with Adverse Selection
11:30 - 12:00Luciano de Castro (Northwestern, decastro.luciano@gmail.com)Ambiguity Aversion Solves the Conflict between Efficiency and Incentive Compatibility
12:00- 1:00Lunch
Chair: Wayne Shafer
1:00 - 1:30William Thomson (Rochester, wth2@mail.rochester.edu)Manipulation of Allocation Rules via Endowments
1:30 - 2:00Kali Rath (Notre Dame, Kali.P.Rath.1@nd.edu)Purification in Games with Finitely-additive Private Information
2:00 - 2:30Coffee Break
Chair: Daniela Puzzello
2:30 - 3:00Yeneng Sun (NUS, ecssuny@nus.edu.sg)Large Bayesian Games
3:00 - 3:30Beth Allen (Minessota, assist@econ.umn.edu)TBA
3:30 - 4:00Coffee Break
Chair: Peter Loeb
4:00 - 4:30Bernard Cornet (Kansas and Paris 1, cornet@ku.edu)Financial Economies with Restricted Participation and Exchange Economies with Unbounded Arbitrage
4:30 - 5:00Nicholas Yannelis (Illinois and Manchester, nyanneli@illinois)A New Perspective to Rational Expectations: Maximin Rational Expectations Equilibrium
7:30Dinner